Seven Deadly Sins

I struggled with what to do for this project for a while. I wanted to avoid cliches like depicting someone eating for gluttony, and someone holding money for greed. So I decided to restrict myself from using any human figures in my images. I thought that this would be a good way for me to go about thinking about how to represent the seven sins in a new way. On a random, and rare trip, to the mall for new shorts, I discovered that each store I passed was trying to sell one or more of the seven deadly sins. Eureka! I realized that consumerism and the sins were intertwined. Each storefront represents the sale of one of the sins, and I feel that they each speak for themselves. The only one that might need a little help is the wrath picture. It is of the Rob Zombie-esque T-shirts found in Hot Topic. This store peddles teenage angst to the fresh-faced tweens going in, to have them come out in chain-draped black baggy pants and a Nightmare Before Christmas top, complete with eyeliner and a shopping bag full of hair dye. Your one stop for all accessories to compliment your rebellion against your middle-class suburban life.

Overall, I think that I was successful in depicting each sin in a new way. 

Envy

 

Gluttony

 

Greed

Lust

Pride

 

Sloth

Wrath

~ by rdranta on July 27, 2010.

Leave a comment